• team member image
    Chief Justice Trevor Riley

    Trevor Riley has practiced law in the Northern Territory since 1974.

    He was called to the Bar in 1985 and was appointed Queen's Counsel in 1989. He was appointed as a Judge of the Supreme Court in 1999 and as Chief Justice in 2010. He retired in July 2016 but remains an Additional Justice on the Court.

    Among many other community involvements Mr Riley is a former president of the Northern Territory Bar Association and vice president of the Northern Territory Law Society.

    He is a former chair of the Northern Territory Parole Board, a former director of the Foundation for Alcohol Research and Education and he is the current chair of the AFLNT Tribunal Appeals Board.

    Mr Riley is at present the deputy chair of St John Ambulance Australia (NT) Inc, a director of the Menzies School of Health Research, the co-chair of Bilata Indigenous Legal Pathways Program and the Patron of Neighbourhood Watch.

    The Expert Advisory Panel will be led by Chief Justice Trevor Riley. A long-term Territorian, Mr Riley was a judge with the Supreme Court for 18 years and continues as an additional judge, as needed. He brings with him a wealth of relevant experience.

    Hide Bio
  • team member image
    Denys Stedman
    Panel Member

    Denys Stedman moved to Darwin in 1979 to take up a graduate position with an accounting practice. He progressed to partner in 1986, eventually becoming partner in charge of KPMG Darwin in 2011.

    In his 38 years in public practice Mr Stedman has served many clients in a myriad of industries and has an extensive knowledge of the Northern Territory business community.

    Mr Stedman has represented many professional bodies over the years (currently serving on the Northern Territory division of the Institute of Company Directors), as well as many voluntary organisations, and is currently the treasurer of NT Rugby Union and Carbine Club NT.

    In addition, he has served on government bodies recently completing his term on the NT Planning Commission and NT Business Advisory Council. Mr Stedman and his wife Catherine are long term Territorians who have raised 3 children in the Territory, and are passionately committed to the future of the Northern Territory.

    Denys Stedman is a lead Partner at KPMG Northern Territory with extensive experience in providing business advisory services to the tourism, hospitality and liquor industries in the Territory.

    Hide Bio
  • team member image
    Richard Matthews
    Panel Member

    Associate Professor Richard Matthews is a National Director of Calvary Healthcare, a Director of the Neuroscience Research Institute and a Director of Alzheimer’s Australia (NSW). 

    He holds a conjoint associate professorship at the Faculty of Medicine NSW.  He graduated from Medicine, University of NSW in 1975. 

    In 2011 was awarded an order of Australia (AM) for services to mental health, drug and alcohol and prison health.

    Associate Professor Matthews was a general practitioner for twenty years and developed an interest in drug and alcohol treatment and worked for many years in the outpatient department in St Vincent’s Hospital, Sydney in this discipline.  He worked in prison health in NSW for twenty years, serving as Director of Drug and Alcohol, Director of Clinical Services and ultimately Chief Executive of Justice Health NSW from 1999 until 2005.  He served for eight years as Deputy Director General at NSW Health with responsibility for Mental Health, drug and alcohol, Statewide Services, Primary and Community Health, Child Health and Child protection as well Intergovernmental Relations.

    Since leaving the Department in 2011, Associate Professor Matthews has served on several Boards as well as consulting in the health services area.

    Professor Richard Matthews, recent Deputy Director-General, New South Wales Department of Health.

    Hide Bio
  • team member image
    Patricia Angus
    Panel Member

    Patricia (Trish) Angus a local Aboriginal Territorian born in Katherine has lived in Darwin for the last 25 years.

    Ms Angus has formal qualifications in general and midwifery nursing, a Masters in Tropical Health and completed many courses in public sector management.

    Ms Angus has over 25 years experience in senior executive public sector positions in the areas of health, housing, local government, Aboriginal affairs and community services in the Northern Territory Public Sector. She has held a broad range of governance and committee roles in the public and community sector at Territory and national levels and was awarded the Public Service Medal at the 2013 Australia Day Awards.

    Ms Angus retired from full time work in May 2012 and has held several appointments since then, including recently completing a term as a director on the Indigenous Business Australia Board.

    Current appointments:

    • Director CareFlight Board and member on the Audit and Risk Committee 
    • Director Voyages Indigenous Tourism Australia Board and Director on the Mutitjulu Foundation
    • Member Top End Health Services Board and member on the Finance, Risk and Audit Committee, Health Outcomes Committee and Governance Committee
    • Commissioner Tourism NT and member on the Finance, Risk and Audit Committee and
    • Member on the Charles Darwin University Vice Chancellor's Indigenous Advisory Committee.

    Hide Bio